A BitterSweet Life

Famous poet Percy Shelley said, “Our sweetest songs are those of saddest thought”. At 29 years old I can’t help but cry at my life. I cry for those I have lost, I cry for the regrets I can’t take back, and I cry for those who will never know how sweet life can be. I also praise His name for the time I had with those I lost, I praise His name for the lessons I learned with each regret, and I praise His name for the bittersweet life I was given, because if it wasn’t for the bitter I would never know how sweet my life truly is.

Like everybody else in this world my life made me who I am by many factors some I could control, some I couldn’t. My biggest fear is losing people to death because I understand how permanent it is. I was born to die and my life was always a guessing game. However it was not me being sick that made me appreciate the gift of life but instead the loss of my dad at 15, watching my mother grieve not only for her husband but just 4 short years later over my little sister’s dad, the only other man she had loved. I learned to appreciate the gift of life when I watched my aunt bury her only daughter after she was taken from us by an evil man with hate in his heart. I learned to appreciate the gift life after I had my first (of several) miscarriage and realized life was not guaranteed. Most would think I would be angry, why must I lose so many, but I’m not because I know I was truly blessed to have them in my life to begin with.

My life has ups and downs like anybody else, but I choose to accept it for what it is and be thankful for what I have. I may never change the entire world, but I know if my writings or this blog changes the world for one person, then I have done what He has called me to do. Comic book artist Jack Kirby stated, “Life at best is bittersweet” and we should all be thankful for that because if it wasn’t for the bitter we would never know how to appreciate the sweet.

Leave a Reply

